The Atrocity Archives

The Atrocity Archives (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As part of the book review world, I occasionally write reviews of fiction over at On Starships and Dragonwings.  It works – because crafting virtual worlds and compelling computer games involves at least some story-telling ability.  Heck, I’ll run if it involves a good story (watch my my review of Zombies, Run!).

Today, it is Top Ten Tuesday in the book blog world – and here are MY top ten TBR books for the fall.  Not necessarily in order ….

1. Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews.  Some reviewers have fussed that it is set in the world of Kate Daniels but does not feature the central characters of the Magic Bites etc. world.  Me – I’m thrilled to see Andrew’s richly crafted supporting characters get a chance in the spotlight.  I’m currently reading this one and loving it!

2.  & 3. Bayou Moon & Fate’s Edge by Ilona Andrews.  I’m kinda fan-girling this author right now.  With the Edge series, she has created a different urban fantasy world that is just as believable but totally different.

4. Destiny Binds by Tammy Blackwell.  A gift from my daughter the book blogger – who recommends it highly.   More fantasy set in an alternate modern world.  Yum.

5. Mercy Thompson Homecoming by Patricia Briggs.  I love Mercy Thompson and am looking forward to the graphic novel of her introduction to our favorite werewolves.

6.  Masques by Patricia Briggs.  A different series that I picked up in the local library.  Not sure about this one, but I’ll give it a try.

7. The Atrocity Archives by Charles Stross.  More urban fantasy recommended by friends.  This sounds like a cross between Dresden Files and Hitchhiker’s Guide.

8. The Pillars of the World by Anne Bishop.  A more traditional fantasy set in a totally different world.

9. Backup by Jim Butcher.  Speaking of Harry Dresden. This is a novella from his vampire brother’s point of view.  Should be wild.

10. The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan.  I love Riordan’s work and don’t care that they are young adult fantasy.  Good plots, good characters, and set in an alternate world where the Greco-Roman gods run around like in the myths.